Michigan's Trey Burke wins Wooden Award

April 5, 2013

University of Michigan guard Trey Burke today has been announced as the winner of the John R. Wooden Award, the preeminent men’s collegiate basketball player of the year award, by Coach John Wooden’s grandson, Greg.

After a stellar sophomore year in which he averaged 18.8 points and 6.8 assists (12th in the nation), Burke took his Wolverines to the Final Four for the first time since 1993.  He also won the 2013 Big Ten Conference Player of the Year award.

A scorer who can stick the three and also create offense for his teammates, Burke’s 3.12 assist-to-turnover ration ranked third in the country. His three-pointer to send the Wolverine’s into overtime against Kansas in the Sweet 16 was one of the top moments of this year’s NCAA Tournament.  Moreover, Burke's clutch performance in that game helped him earn MVP of the South Regional.

Voting among the hundreds of national college basketball media was the closest since Duke’s J.J. Redick finished 72 points ahead of Gonzaga’s Adam Morrison in 2005.

Burke had 2,808 points, just ahead of second-place finisher Victor Oladipo of Indiana (2,718). Returning Wooden All American Doug McDermott of Creighton was third (2,344,) followed by Otto Porter, Jr. of Georgetown (2,144) and Gonzaga’s Kelly Olynyk (2,079). The rest of the Wooden All American team includes Miami’s Shane Larkin, Indiana’s Cody Zeller, Duke’s Mason Plumlee, Ohio State’s DeShaun Thomas, and Kansas’ Ben McLemore.

Burke is the first Michigan Wooden All American since Chris Webber in 1993, and is the first Wolverine to be named a Wooden Award winner.

Voters were asked to take into account performance during the regular season and postseason through the first three rounds of the NCAA tournament, as well as a player’s character and academic accomplishments.

The 37th Annual Wooden Award Gala honoring Burke and the men’s and women’s Wooden All American Teams, will take place on Friday, April 12, 2013, at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

2013 Wooden Award Vote Totals
Trey Burke, Michigan, 2808 points
Victor Oladipo, Indiana, 2718
Doug McDermott, Creighton, 2344
Otto Porter, Jr., Georgetown, 2144
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga, 2079
Shane Larkin, Miami (FL), 1822
Cody Zeller, Indiana, 1730
Mason Plumlee, Duke, 1304
DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State, 1202
Ben McLemore, Kansas, 1072

By Staff of The Daily Sports Herald and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...