NBA announces All-Defensive Teams

May 13, 2013

The NBA announced its 2012-13 NBA All-Defensive First Team today, with Memphis Grizzlies guard Tony Allen and Miami Heat forward LeBron James receiving the most votes with 53 and 52 total points overall, respectively. Each player received 25 First Team votes.

Also on the First Team are guard Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers (37 points, 15 First Team votes), forward Serge Ibaka of the Oklahoma City Thunder (46 points, 17 First Team votes), and centers Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks and Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls, who tied with 24 points each.

Of course, the most interesting take on the announcement is which players did not make the cut.

Memphis center Marc Gasol, the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year, failed to crack the First Team, but did make the Second Team.

Shotblocker extraordinaire Larry Sanders failed to make either team, receiving only 16 total points.

Also conspicuously absent from both teams were such notable defense standouts as Dwight Howard, Thabo Sefolosha, Kobe Bryant, Andre Iguodala, Luol Deng, Russell Westbrook, Nicolas Batum, and Kawhi Leonard.

Allen was part of a Grizzlies defense that allowed a league-low 89.3 ppg. According to, Memphis’ defensive rating with Allen on the floor was 94.3 points per 100 possessions compared with 101.1 points when he was on the bench.

Ibaka paced the league in blocks (3.03 bpg) for the second consecutive season, while Paul led in steals (2.41 spg) for the third straight year. Chandler and Noah anchored two of the league’s stingiest defenses, with the Knicks ranking seventh in opponent scoring (95.7 ppg) and the Bulls finishing third (92.9 ppg).

The NBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of guards Avery Bradley of the Boston Celtics (10 First Team votes) and Mike Conley of the Grizzlies (four First Team votes), forwards Tim Duncan of the San Antonio Spurs (three First Team votes) and Paul George of the Indiana Pacers (seven First Team votes), and center Marc Gasol of the Grizzlies (five First Team votes).

The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

Here are the final voting results:


Forward LeBron James, Miami - 52
Forward Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City - 46
Center Tyson Chandler, New York - 24
Center Joakim Noah, Chicago - 24
Guard Tony Allen, Memphis - 53
Guard Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers - 37


Forward Tim Duncan, San Antonio - 20
Forward Paul George, Indiana - 27
Center Marc Gasol, Memphis - 12
Guard Avery Bradley, Boston - 25
Guard Mike Conley, Memphis - 19

Other players receiving votes
Andre Iguodala, Denver, 16
Larry Sanders, Milwaukee, 16
Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 15
Luol Deng, Chicago, 11
Dwight Howard, L.A. Lakers, 9
Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers 6
Roy Hibbert, Indiana, 6
Kenneth Faried, Denver, 4
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 4
Shane Battier, Miami, 2
Nicolas Batum, Portland, 2
Corey Brewer, Denver, 2
George Hill, Indiana, 2
Mike James, Dallas, 2
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio, 2
Tony Parker, San Antonio, 2
Dwyane Wade, Miami, 2
Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers, 2
Eric Bledsoe, L.A. Clippers, 1
Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City, 1
Jrue Holiday, Philadelphia, 1
Andrei Kirilenko, Minnesota, 1
Iman Shumpert, New York, 1
David West, Indiana, 1

By Staff of The Daily Sports Herald and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...