UFC announces new Women's Strawweight division

December 11, 2013

The UFC announced today that it has created a new women's strawweight division in which the fighters will compete and make their debut on the television show The Ultimate Fighter. The female fighters are from the Invicta FC women’s mixed martial arts organization, which assigned the contracts of 11 women’s strawweight (115 pounds) competitors to the UFC.

Those 11 fighters are: Carla Esparza, Claudia Gadelha, Felice Herrig, Joanne Calderwood, Tecia Torres, Rose Namajunas, Bec Hyatt, Emily Kagan, Alex Chambers, Julianna Lima, and Paige Van Zant.

In May, the 11 women will report to Las Vegas and participate on season 20 of The Ultimate Fighter in the first-ever all-women’s edition of the show. For the first time ever, The Ultimate Fighter will crown a UFC champion, as the winner of season 20 will become the inaugural UFC women’s strawweight champion.

“The women’s 135-pound division in the UFC has been amazing and we know there are a ton of talented women’s mixed martial artists out there,” UFC president Dana White said. “Now, you’ll see even more great women’s bouts in the UFC with the addition of the 115-pound division. We’re excited to crown the first-ever UFC women’s strawweight champion in 2014 after a historic season of The Ultimate Fighter.”

Coaches for the show have not yet been determined. An additional five fighters will be selected for The Ultimate Fighter via a tryout set to be held in 2014.

By Staff of The Daily Sports Herald and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...