NFL announces 2014-2015 playoff schedule

December 29, 2014

With Week 17 completed, NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell has announced the schedule of sites, dates, and times for the league's Wild Card Playoffs on January 3-4, and the Divisional Playoffs on January 10-11 (all times Eastern).

Of course, the one glaring absurdity in the schedule is the NFL's insistence on giving all division winners a home game, as the winner of the weak NFC South, the 7-8-1 Carolina Panthers, will get to host a playoff game on their home field against Arizona.

Here is the NFL Playoff schedule:


Saturday, January 3

NFC:    4:35 PM (ET)
Arizona at Carolina (ESPN)

AFC:    8:15 PM (ET)
Baltimore at Pittsburgh (NBC)

Sunday, January 4

AFC:    1:05 PM (ET)
Cincinnati at Indianapolis (CBS)

NFC:    4:40 PM (ET)
Detroit at Dallas (FOX)


Saturday, January 10

AFC:    4:35 PM (ET)
Indianapolis/Cincinnati/Baltimore at New England (NBC)

NFC:    8:15 PM (ET)
Carolina/Arizona/Detroit at Seattle (FOX)

Sunday, January 11

NFC:    1:05 PM (ET)
Dallas/Carolina/Arizona at Green Bay (FOX)

AFC:    4:40 PM (ET)
Pittsburgh/Indianapolis/Cincinnati at Denver (CBS)

In the Divisional Playoffs, the division champion with the best record in each conference will host the lowest seeded Wild Card survivor.  Once teams are seeded for the playoffs, positions do not change:

American Football Conference

1.  New England (12-4, AFC East champion)
2.  Denver (12-4, AFC West champion)  
3.  Pittsburgh (11-5) (AFC North champion)
4.  Indianapolis (11-5, AFC South champion)
5.  Cincinnati (10-5-1)
6.  Baltimore (10-6)

National Football Conference

1.  Seattle (12-4, NFC West champion)
2.  Green Bay (12-4, NFC North champion)
3.  Dallas (12-4, NFC East champion)  
4.  Carolina (7-8-1, NFC South champion)
5.  Arizona (11-5)
6.  Detroit (11-5)

The NFC (FOX, 3:05 PM ET) and AFC (CBS, 6:40 PM ET) Championship Games will be played on Sunday, January 18.

The 2015 Pro Bowl (ESPN, 8:00 PM ET) will be played on Sunday, January 25 and Super Bowl XLIX on Sunday, February 1 (NBC, 6:30 PM ET), both at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

By Staff of and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...