Watch list announced for 2015 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award

February 20, 2015

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 17 watch list finalists for the 2015 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, named after the Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard.  Now in its twelfth year, the yearly honor recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball.

The original watch list of 35 candidates was narrowed down to the below list of 17 by a national committee.  Four of the players are from the Pac-12 Conference.

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957), and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

“The seventeen athletes on this list represent the most dedicated and skillful point guards in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “They exhibit many of the characteristics that made Mr. Cousy such a successful player and we are pleased to be recognizing them for their accomplishments. We thank College of Holy Cross for their support of this esteemed award.”

The current list of 17 finalists for the 2015 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will then be presented to the Hall of Fame’s selection committee comprised of top college basketball personnel. The winner of the 2015 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards from Club Nokia in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, 2015.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014); Trey Burke, Michigan (2013); Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012); Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011); Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010); Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009); DJ Augustin, Texas (2008); Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007); Dee Brown, Illinois (2006); Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005); and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

2015 Bob Cousy Award Candidates  

T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona
Tyrone Wallace, University of California, Berkeley
Kyle Collinsworth, Brigham Young University
Ryan Boatright, University of Connecticut
Tyus Jones, Duke University
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University
Keifer Sykes, University of Wisconsin, Green Bay
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana University
Monte Morris, Iowa State University
Terry Rozier, University of Louisville
Romelo Trimble, University of Maryland
Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina
Kris Dunn, Providence College
Delon Wright, University of Utah
Nigel Williams-Goss, University of Washington
Juwan Staten, West Virginia University
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State University

By Staff of and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...