Watch list announced for 2015 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award

February 18, 2015

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the fifteen watch list members for the 2015 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, named after "Doctor J," the high-flying Hall of Famer, ABA pioneer, and 11-time NBA All-Star.

The annual honor in its inaugural year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball.  A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 15 candidates. Included on the list is local Southern California product and University of Arizona freshman Stanley Johnson.

“I would like to thank the Basketball Hall of Fame for recognizing these hardworking young men and allowing me to be a part of the process,” said Julius Erving, a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.  “To be the best small forward in college basketball, you have to work tirelessly and I believe the players on this list have shown that level of dedication.”

Julius Erving attended the University of Massachusetts and averaged 26.3 points and 20.2 rebounds per game, making him one of only six NCAA men’s basketball players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game.

After two seasons, Erving made the jump the American Basketball Association and was the league’s most recognizable player when it merged with the National Basketball Association in 1976. During his professional career, Erving won three championships, four most valuable player awards and three scoring titles. In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

“Dr. J is one of the most gifted athletes to ever play the game of basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “As a small forward, Julius Erving excelled at both the collegiate and professional level for nearly thirty years. It only seems right that this award would bear his name.”

By early March, the current list of 15 finalists for the 2015 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed down to five players.  The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2015 Julius Erving Award will be presented at ESPN’s new College Basketball Awards from Club Nokia in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, 2015.

2015 Julius Erving Award Candidates 

Stanley Johnson, University of Arizona
Roosevelt Jones, Butler University
Justise Winslow, Duke University
Branden Dawson, Michigan State University
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State University
Terran Petteway, University of Nebraska
Pat Connaughton, University of Notre Dame
Le’Bryan Nash, Oklahoma State University
LaDontae Henton, Providence College
Anthony Brown, Stanford University
Jonathan Holmes, University of Texas
Vince Hunter, University of Texas, El Paso
Treveon Graham, Virginia Commonwealth University
Justin Anderson, University of Virginia
Sam Dekker, University of Wisconsin

By Staff of and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...