Toronto Raptors' Lou Williams wins 2014-2015 NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award

April 20, 2015

Toronto Raptors’ 6-1 gunner Lou Williams, who averaged a career-high 15.5 points this season and helped Toronto win a franchise-record 49 games, is the winner of the 2014-15 NBA Sixth Man Award as the league’s best reserve player, the NBA announced today. The Toronto guard is the first Raptors player to earn the honor.

The Los Angeles Clippers' Jamal Crawford, a former two-time winner, finished third in the voting with 131 points (eight first-place votes) after missing significant time this season due to injury.

Williams, in his 10th NBA season and first with the Raptors, amassed 78 first-place votes and 502 total points from a panel of 130 journalists.  Isaiah Thomas of the Boston Celtics finished second with 324 points (33 first-place votes),

Williams, 28, came off the bench in all 80 of his appearances and averaged 25.2 minutes. He led or tied for the team lead in scoring 18 times, second most in the league for a reserve, and the Raptors went 14-4 in those games. He also led the Raptors in free throw percentage (86.1) and made a career-high 152 three-pointers, nearly double his previous high of 88 set with the 76ers in 2010-11.

On March 4, Williams set a Toronto record for points in a quarter with 21 in the fourth period against the Cleveland Cavaliers.

Other players to earn votes included: Andre Iguodala, Tristan Thompson, Nikola Mirotic, Marreese Speights, Corey Brewer, Manu Ginobili, Taj Gibson, Aaron Brooks, Chris Kaman, Anthony Morrow, and Dennis Schröder.                

Below is the all-time list of winners:

1982-83                           Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84                           Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85                           Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86                           Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87                           Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88                           Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89                           Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90                           Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91                           Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92                           Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93                           Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94                           Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95                           Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96                           Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97                           John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98                           Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99                           Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00                           Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01                           Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02                           Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03                           Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04                           Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05                           Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls
2005-06                           Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07                           Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
2007-08                           Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs
2008-09                           Jason Terry, Dallas Mavericks
2009-10                           Jamal Crawford, Atlanta Hawks
2010-11                           Lamar Odom, Los Angeles Lakers
2011-12                           James Harden, Oklahoma City Thunder
2012-13                           J.R. Smith, New York Knicks
2013-14                          Jamal Crawford, Los Angeles Clippers
2014-15                          Lou Williams, Toronto Raptors

By Staff of and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...