Two Clippers make All-Defensive First Team

May 20, 2015

Two LA Clippers, center DeAndre Jordan and point guard Chris Paul, have been named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team. It is Jordan’s first defensive team honor and Paul’s fourth consecutive year on the first team and the fifth overall time in his career. Jordan received 187 points (84 First Team votes, 19 Second Team votes), while Paul garnered a total of 170 points (67 First Team votes, 36 Second Team votes).

Joining Jordan and Paul on the NBA All-Defensive First Team are forward Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs (242 points), forward Draymond Green of the Golden State Warriors (229 points) and guard Tony Allen of the Memphis Grizzlies (207 points). Leonard was the recipient of this past season's Defensive Player of the Year award.

Jordan led the NBA in rebounds per game (15.0), defensive rebounds per game (10.1) and was fourth in blocks per game (2.23). His 1,226 rebounds in 2014-15 were the fourth-most rebounds by any player in the NBA in a single season since 1985-86 and is the most in Clippers franchise history.

Paul was second in the NBA in total steals (156) and fifth in steals per game (1.90). He has led the NBA in steals in six of the past eight seasons. According to data from Synergy Sports, Paul ranked first in the NBA this season in isolation situations, allowing only 0.565 points per play in such scenarios. Paul was previously named to the  NBA All-Defensive First Team in 2014, 2013, 2012 and 2009 and was also named to the NBA All-Defensive Second Team in 2011 and 2008.

The NBA All-Defensive Second Team consists of New Orleans Pelicans forward Anthony Davis (47 First Team votes), Chicago Bulls guard Jimmy Butler (44 First Team votes), Warriors center Andrew Bogut (33 First Team votes), Washington Wizards guard John Wall (7 First Team votes) and Spurs forward Tim Duncan (5 First Team votes).

The voting panel consisted of 129 writers and broadcasters from the U.S. and Canada. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): Rudy Gobert, Utah, 54 (5); LeBron James, Cleveland, 47 (6); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 35 (13); Avery Bradley, Boston, 26 (5); Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Charlotte, 21 (2), Klay Thompson, Golden State, 19 (3); Marc Gasol, Memphis, 18 (2); Danny Green, San Antonio, 18; Trevor Ariza, Houston, 17 (1); Stephen Curry, Golden State, 14 (2); DeMarre Carroll, Atlanta, 11 (1); Patrick Beverley, Houston, 10 (1); Khris Middleton, Milwaukee, 9 (1); Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City, 8; Andre Iguodala, Golden State, 8; Paul Millsap, Atlanta, 8; Jeff Teague, Atlanta, 7 (1); Mike Conley, Memphis, 6 (2); Joakim Noah, Chicago, 6; Nerlens Noel, Philadelphia, 5 (1); P.J. Tucker, Phoenix, 4; Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee, 3; Pau Gasol, Chicago, 3; Wesley Matthews, Portland, 3; James Harden, Houston, 2; Marcus Smart, Boston, 2; Hassan Whiteside, Miami, 2 (1); Eric Bledsoe, Phoenix, 1; DeMarcus Cousins, Sacramento, 1; Andre Drummond, Detroit, 1; Manu Ginobili, San Antonio, 1; Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers, 1; George Hill, Indiana, 1; Al Horford, Atlanta, 1; Victor Oladipo, Orlando, 1; Zaza Pachulia, Milwaukee, 1; Elfrid Payton, Orlando, 1; Zach Randolph, Memphis, 1; Rajon Rondo, Dallas, 1; Iman Shumpert, Cleveland, 1; Dwyane Wade, Miami, 1.

By Staff of the

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...