NBA announces new seeding format for 2015-2016 playoffs; Hall of Fame presenters also announced

September 8, 2015

In a move that should bring a measure of justice to the NBA playoffs, the NBA Board of Governors unanimously approved changes to the playoff seeding and qualification procedures for the 2015-16 season, the league announced today.

As part of the modifications, the eight playoff teams in each conference will be seeded in order of their regular-season record.

This is a big upgrade from the prior format where every division winner -- even those with sub-.500 records -- was guaranteed a top four seed in its respective conference.

The Board also approved changes to tiebreak criteria for playoff seeding and home-court advantage.

Head-to-head results have become the first criterion to break ties for playoff seeding and home-court advantage between two teams with identical regular-season records.  The second criterion is whether a team won its division.

Under the old tiebreak system, a division winner was awarded the higher seed and received home-court advantage in a series if the two teams met in the playoffs.

The NBA’s Competition Committee unanimously recommended each of these changes prior to the Board of Governors vote.

Basketball Hall of Fame presenters announced for 2015 Ceremony

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the list of Hall of Famers who will present this year’s class at the 2015 Enshrinement Ceremony on September 11th at Springfield Symphony Hall.

The Class of 2015 inductees includes 39-year NBA referee Dick Bavetta, three-time College Coach of the Year John Calipari, four-time NBA All-Star Spencer Haywood, eight-time NBA All-Star Dikembe Mutombo, seven-time NBA All-Star Jo Jo White, three-time WNBA MVP Lisa Leslie, ABA superstar Louis Dampier, Early African-American Pioneer of the game John Isaacs, acclaimed Australian player and coach Lindsay Gaze, 2-time NBA Champion coach with the Celtics Tom Heinsohn, and former college coach George Raveling.

Members of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2015 were asked to select a previous inductee to accompany and present them to their peers. The choice is solely the decision of the incoming Hall of Famer.

More than 50 Hall of Famers are expected to be in attendance for this year’s ceremony, including all presenters. Among the presenters are James Worthy, Pat Riley, Bill Walton, Charles Barkley, and Julius Erving.

2015 Inductees and Presenters

  • Dick Bavetta, presented by Charles Barkley (‘06), Bob Lanier (‘92) & Don Nelson (’12)
  • John Calipari, presented by Larry Brown (’02), Julius Erving (‘93) & Pat Riley (‘08)
  • Louis Dampier, presented by Dan Issel (‘93)
  • Lindsay Gaze, presented by Larry Brown (‘02), Hank Nichols (‘12) & Lute Olson (‘02)
  • Spencer Haywood, presented by Charles Barkley (‘06), Bill Walton (’93) & Lenny Wilkens (’89, ’98, ‘00)
  • Tom Heinsohn, presented by Tom “Satch” Sanders (‘11)
  • John Isaacs, presented by Nate Archibald (‘91)
  • Lisa Leslie, presented by Cynthia Cooper-Dyke (’10), Teresa Edwards (‘11), Katrina McClain (’12), Dawn Staley (’13), Tara VanDerveer (’11), Lynette Woodard (’04) & James Worthy (’03)
  • Dikembe Mutombo, presented by David Stern (’14) & John Thompson (’99)
  • George Raveling, presented by Phil Knight (‘12), John Thompson (’99) & Lenny Wilkens (’89, ’98, ‘00)
  • Jo Jo White, presented by Dave Cowens (‘91) & John Havlicek (‘84)

By Staff of and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...