Dodgers trade catcher Carlos Ruiz to Mariners for lefty pitcher Vidal Nuno

November 8, 2016

The Los Angeles Dodgers acquired left-handed pitcher Vidal Nuño from the Seattle Mariners in exchange for veteran catcher and Dodger playoff rental Carlos Ruiz.

Nuño, 29, went 1-1 with a 3.53 ERA in 55 games (one start) in 2016. The National City, CA, native has a 5-20 record with a 4.02 ERA in 126 games (42 starts) in four Major League seasons with the Yankees (2013-14), D-backs (2014-15), and Mariners (2015-16), while limiting left-handed hitters to a .224 batting average during the course of his career.

Nuño was originally selected by the Indians in the 48th round of the 2009 First-Year Player Draft out of Baker University and went 34-18 with a 2.94 ERA in 98 games (66 starts) in seven minor league seasons.

Ruiz, 37, was acquired in a controversial trade late last season for popular catcher A.J. Ellis.  Despite the potential for a clubhouse chemistry implosion, Ruiz fit in well and was productive at the plate for the Dodgers.

He appeared in 14 regular-season games, going 10-for-36 (.278), and in seven postseason games for the Dodgers after being acquired from the Phillies on Aug. 25, combining to hit .264 with three homers and 15 RBI in 62 games. The 11-year MLB veteran has a .266 career batting average with 68 home runs and 404 RBI in 1,083 games with Philadelphia and Los Angeles.

In other Dodgers news . . .

Four Dodgers named 2016 BBWAA Awards Finalists

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) announced the top three finalists in the American League and National League for the 2016 BBWAA Awards.  Included among the finalists are Dodgers Kenta Maeda, Corey Seager, Dave Roberts, and Clayton Kershaw.  The Angels Mike Trout also is a finalist.

Following is the complete list of finalists, along with the dates for each upcoming award announcement on MLB Network:

Monday, November 14, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Michael Fulmer, Tyler Naquin, Gary Sanchez
NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Kenta Maeda, Corey Seager, Trea Turner

Tuesday, November 15, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Manager of the Year: Jeff Banister, Terry Francona, Buck Showalter
NL Manager of the Year: Dusty Baker, Joe Maddon, Dave Roberts

Wednesday, November 16, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Cy Young Award: Corey Kluber, Rick Porcello, Justin Verlander
NL Cy Young Award: Kyle Hendricks, Jon Lester, Max Scherzer

Thursday, November 17, 6:00 p.m. ET:

AL Most Valuable Player: Jose Altuve, Mookie Betts, Mike Trout
NL Most Valuable Player: Kris Bryant, Daniel Murphy, Corey Seager

Starting next Monday, November 14 through Thursday, November 17, BBWAA Awards Week on MLB Network will feature the exclusive live announcements of the winners of each award in the American League and National League by BBWAA secretary-treasurer Jack O’Connell.

Hosted by MLB Network’s Greg Amsinger, BBWAA Awards Week will feature live interviews with award finalists, winners and BBWAA members, plus insight from MLB Network’s Sean Casey, Ron Darling, Brian Kenny, Dan O’Dowd, Dan Plesac, Harold Reynolds, Ken Rosenthal, Christopher Russo, and Tom Verducci.

By Staff of and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...