Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Dodgers Vin Scully to receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

November 16, 2016

Today, President Barack Obama named 21 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, including Hall of Famer Vin Scully, who this year completed his 67th and final season in the broadcast booth for the Dodgers.  Los Angeles Lakers legend and author Kareem Abdul Jabbar also will be honored.

The awards will be presented at the White House on November 22.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the nation’s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

President Obama said, “The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation’s highest civilian honor – it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better. From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

Scully and Abdul-Jabbar will join the following individuals in being awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom: Elouise Cobell (posthumous), Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Richard Garwin, Bill and Melinda Gates, Frank Gehry, Margaret H. Hamilton, Tom Hanks, Grace Hopper (posthumous), Michael Jordan, Maya Lin, Lorne Michaels, Newt Minow, Eduardo PadrĂ³n, Robert Redford, Diana Ross, Bruce Springsteen, and Cicely Tyson.

By Staff of TheDailySportsHerald.com and news services

No comments:

Post a Comment

We encourage all intelligent, passionate comments. Please refrain from any ignorant, racist, or offensive rants.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...